Skinny Superbowl Snacks

If you are anything like me, the only NFL game you watch of the year is the Super Bowl! I normally can’t stand watching, but it sure is a great excuse to get together with friends, drink, and eat some ridiculous food!

Feb 013 (2)

Hubby & Me, 2011 Super Bowl (cheering for the Steelers)!

Normally we get together with a couple that we are good friends with (who have a new little baby only 5 weeks older than our baby girl) and eat our faces off! Since I am trying to stick with healthy, and have been experimenting with vegan food (that is a whooollllleeee ‘nother topic that I will get into later), I wanted to still get together and have fun without gaining 5 lbs. Automatic bonus for me, I couldn’t drink my calories because I am still nursing!

Here are the guilt-free recipes I made for a (Skinny) Sunday Funday that you can try at your next gathering, be it a hockey game, birthday, or just hanging out with friends. I got the Beer-garita recipe from Pinterest, and the food recipes from an article on BuzzFeed (majorly addictive time-sucker website) called “19 Delicious Vegan Super Bowl Snacks”. Forgive my pictures, I am by no means a photographer! Click the recipe titles to go to the original links.

Skinny Beer-garitas
These “beer-garitas” were pretty darn good. The only complaint was that they came out a bit too sweet, I used Splenda, which I don’t really like, but happened to have on hand. Next time I think I would use less sweetener and sub for Stevia or some agave syrup. DSC03001Also, I would recommend straining out the lime zest from the limeade before freezing. Other than that, it worked out super well. I made it the night before and kept it in the freezer and it stayed the perfect slushy consistency. I used beer my husband had bought, Phillips Blue Buck, a great easy drinker from a local brewery. Give these easy refreshing drinks a try and let me know what you think! (Did I mention it is only 4 ingredients?!)

DSC03007

Stuffed Jalapenos
Yum! This recipe will fool anyone into thinking they are eating something to feel guilty about, just make sure you don’t eat the whole plate like I almost did! These are great for a party, easy to eat, and are a great offering for carnivores and vegans alike! The recipe suggests you use Daiya dairy-free cheese, which I did and it is an awesome substitute! Don’t worry about the heat with these either, the longer you bake, the less spicy they get.

DSC03009

Spinach & Artichoke Dip
This dip is normally one of my favorite appetizers to order at restaurants, although it is probably one of the most fattening. I decided to try a dairy and (almost) fat-free version and it turned out great. The only problem was that I don’t have a food processor so it could have been a touch smoother, but other than that it was delicious and quite filling as it was basically my Super Bowl supper! I even added a touch of the Daiya cheese and it was perfect.

DSC03011

Thanks again for stopping by. If you give any of these recipes a try, let me know how it goes. Also -feel free to share any of your favorite “skinny” party foods!

-Karley

Leave a Reply

